The New Passover

1. The Last Supper: What is different? (Mark 14; Matt 24; Luke 22)
         a. Lamb is not the focus
         b. Jesus speaks of “pouring out” blood; only priests can do this (Lev 4:5-7)

2. No Ordinary Passover:
         a. New Priests: Jesus and 12 Apostles (representing 12 Tribes)
         b. New Lamb: Jesus replaces Lamb with himself
         c. New Sacrifice: Unleavened Bread (Body) and Wine (Blood) offered

3. Why did Jewish Christians believe Eucharist was Jesus’ body and blood?
         a. Eucharist, like the Old Passover: is a participation in the New Passover of Jesus
         b. You had to eat the Lamb to complete the sacrifice
         c. St. Paul: Jesus is the New Lamb
          “Christ, our paschal lamb, has been sacrificed. Therefore let us keep the feast!” (1 Cor 5:7-8)

1.  The New Exodus
2.  The Old Passover
3.  Later Jewish Passover
4.  The New Passover
5.  The Old Manna
6.  Later Jewish Tradition
7.  The New Manna
8.  The Bread of the Presence
9.  Later Jewish Tradition
10. The New Bread of the Presence